Hello

I have been MIA but missing this space as of late. Although I have gone down the Rabbit Hole of YouTube I don’t think that is a format I would enjoy creating. I like the simpler life over here in the old school blog world and decided to come back.

I’m not sure what I expect from my little corner of the world but as 2023 wraps I have been doing a lot of thinking about 2024. Quite honestly I have gotten myself a bit overwhelmed lately. I’m looking forward to a simpler 2024 and tracking seems to help keep me focused.

So, what do I have planned for 2024? Here is the short list.

Make time to write: Not just on this blog but complete the book I started. That means carving out writing time minimally each day with a larger chunk of time each week.

Journaling: Over the years I have tried bullet journaling and as much as I am drawn to all the pens and stickers and washi tape. I just cannot keep up with some of these “fancy” trackers and such. I bought a bujo last year and made it a couple weeks. I still have that journal and think I am going to try again but in a less formal way. A combination of a “junk journal” or “smash book”. Basically, its a handmade journal crafted from recycled materials, found objects and things you already have around your house along with a more general list tracker. One thing I just joined is called Postcrossing. A place where I can send postcards to people I do not know and develops a group of pen pals.

Gardening: We have a 1/3 of an acre and its a LOT of space to keep up. I have managed to mostly complete the bed in front of our house. There are some holes to fill and things to move but I am happy with it so far. In the spring I will give you a tour. During the summer of Covid we put a fire pit in the front yard [which is bigger than the back yard] to enjoy socially distanced time with friends and since then we do Firepit Wednesdays. I plan on getting the bed along the street improved in one area [more ferns!] and started in another area this year. I asked for the book The Layered Garden by David Culp for Christmas to aid me in plant selection.

Celebrate Nature: I want to get out in nature every day for a walk. I also want to celebrate the natural turning of the wheel and moon phases. This is where I think having a basic tracker for my time will help as I am always surprised when a holiday, birthday or event happens and I am not prepared. Small rituals are all I am going for but to be prepared to celebrate them.

Financial & Physical Health: Reduce stress & debt. Increase fun & savings. I want to lose some weight. This year I intend to do that as well as increase my energy.

Start Studio: We live in a small home [less than 1,000 square feet]. We are in need of at least one more bedroom as an office. Adding on to the house is cost prohibitive so a “she shed” for my office is what we intend to do. We did not start on it last year and I want to make progress on it this year.

Travel & Geocaching: These go hand in hand. We have some goals that require trips outside of the state/country. Taking and planning for those trips over the coming year and in to 2025 and a trip for my niece’s high school graduation in 2026.

Create: I know this is a general statement but when I am creating I feel so good and have lost touch with that over the years. A couple of projects for the upcoming year is to create an escape room for B’s birthday in November and a book nook.

Dog Training: Our cowboy corgi Hazel is almost 9 months old and has exhibited Leash Reactivity. We want to get some 1×1 training with her.

So that is a pretty general guide to what I want to manifest in the coming year. I hope you join me!

Leave a comment