Geocaching: Awesome Cache Hides – Sit For A Spell

Two blog post about Geocaching in two days? Why not? Today if you find a Geocache you get a souvenir called “Big Blue Switchto celebrate the 17 year anniversary of satellite availability to the masses.

One of my favorite types of hides involve the little free lending libraries. I am a huge reader and appreciate the effort the owners go to in order to place them. Even more so when a Geocache is involved.

Sit for a Spell: difficulty 1.5, terrain, 1.5, size small.  Hidden 7/15/15. We found 5/1/17. Favorites: 11

Official description of the cache:

book·worm (bo͝ok′wûrm′) n.
1. One who spends much time reading or studying.

2. Any of various insects, especially booklice and silverfish, that infest books and feed on the paste in the bindings. 

You are welcome to visit the library, but you do not need to access the inside for your geocaching purposes. Rest and relax here while you sign the log. Please bring your own pen. I’m looking for the next great book to read. What is your favorite book? I recently read “A Single Shard” by Linda Sue Park. What do you think about VOYAGE? I have received permission from the property owner to place a cache at this location with the understanding that no cachers will be showing up after dark or late in the evening (sorry, not a night cache). Give yourself a bonus point if you figure out how we decided on the name for this cache.

B and I were headed to meet friends for dinner and had a couple caches on our list to hit, we found this one. 

Even though you didn’t need to open the library to find the cache, I of course had to investigate if there was anything worthwhile to read inside. Couple good books I had already read and a cookbook I had my eye on for a while so I took that (I love reading cookbooks!). 

Of course the draw is the library and B and I didn’t even notice the line chair sitting near it…….at first. 


But look what we found underneath it!


The log was in a wooden book placed under the adirondack chair. So clever! Definitely gave it a favorite point!

Leave a Reply

