Greek Orzo Pasta Salad

We were going to be at my moms for dinner when my aunt and uncle were in town and I said I would bring a salad. Yesterday was a scorcher and we set a heat record. There is nothing I like on a warm even “feeling like you are soaking in a hot tub from hell” evening then a nice cold pasta salad.

I suddenly remembered one my friend Jane sometimes brings to the Volkswagen camping potlucks. I thought that would go perfectly with chicken so started hitting up Pinterest for recipies. I read through a few and then thought – how hard could this be, I don’t need a recipe.

I did get an idea for how much Orzo to cook from this recipe (and the photo is hers as well – my food photo taking abilities are sometimes not so good) but that was it.


Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups Orzo pasta cooked

6oz. Container feta cheese

2.5 0z. Salami

1/2 cup peperoncini 

1/2 cup Kalamatta olives

1/2 cup peppadew peppers

1/2 cup red onion

1 cup artichoke hearts

6Tbsp Wish Bone Ristorante Italiano garlic Parmesan dressing

Prep: 

Cook Orzo al dente, toss in strainer and rinse under cold water.

While pasta is cooking put feta in a bowl. Chop all ingredients to desired size and add to feta in bowl.

Add dressing and stir until all ingredients are coated.

Add pasta and stir until well coated.

Store in fridge and serve when cold.

Serves 8.

A caveat here, I did not add artichoke hearts in mine and realized as I was writing this post they would be a great addition. Also, choose the Italian or Greek dressing of your choice. I was strapped for time and had this dressing in the fridge but I really like it!

If you are following Weight Watchers this recipe is 7 points per serving with all the ingredients listed above.

Leave a Reply

