Whole 30

  

I am reading the book It Starts With Food and will be starting my own Whole 30 Monday April 11. For those of you who have not heard of it, it is 30 days of eating real food.

  • What I get to eat: meat, seafood, eggs, tons of veggies, some fruit and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts & seeds.
  • What I cannot eat: added sugar, grains, legumes, dairy and alcohol.

I am looking forward to this kick in the pants to weight loss and better health, however this means I will be “on plan” through two long weekend camping trips and Mother’s Day. 

The decision to push the date out is so I can finish the book and prepare myself and I am looking forward to a beer tasting/brat fest at the pub for Fort George Brewing (where we went on Valentine’s Day) Wednesday April 6.

I have a trip planned for the last weekend in May across the country for a wedding and didn’t want to be on plan while away. I didn’t want to wait until after getting back and lose my momentum either.

Likely the hardest part for me will be dairy and how to drink my morning coffee. I suspect cold brew without sweetener and cream will be my new coffee go to.

As far as support, B is aware of my plans and I have told close friends and family so they will understand. Also, a friend added me to a While30 group in Facebook which even though I have not been on the plan I have benefitted from by lurking there. I expect I will become a more active participant after I start.

I will be posting a weekly updat on how I am doing, what sort of challenges I face and what sort of small victories I achieve. 

2 thoughts on “Whole 30

Leave a Reply

