2016 Goals

Another year has come and gone. I managed to pack quite a bit of adventure and fun in to 2015 and plan to continue that in the new year.

As mentioned before, I am making some changes to my monthly updates. I want life for 2016 to be as simple as possible. To that end I just want the following:

2016

I have a few goals for the year and they can be broken out in to four main areas.

Health: Weight Loss/Outdoor Activities

Men Jan 3

Above is a photo of me taken yesterday [1/3/16]. On January 3, 2017 I want a photo of me to be a lot different. I want to lose weight and be more healthy. I have a number in mind but not certain I want to share it at this time.

  • Workouts and enjoying outdoor activities as much as possible.
  • Eat/cook from home.
  • Consume less craft beer and coffee.
  • Increase existing activities: Geocaching and hiking.
  • Learn new activities: snowshoeing, cross country skiing, archery, fencing and rock climbing.
  • Give myself little mini challenges; planks, push-ups, etc.

Finance: Save + Reduce debt

I have prepared a budget for 2016. I have a small amount of savings and most of my debt is gone. My net worth is positive.

Two items that “may” affect my savings goals. I may buy a new car this year but would rather push that to 2017. I will likely have to replace my laptop. The trip abroad may require some monies to be paid out towards the end of 2016.

  • Have $10,000 in savings at the end of the year [a bit aggressive].
  • Eliminate monthly storage unit expense.
  • Pay off 401[k] loan.
  • Plan a trip abroad within the next 18 months.

Hobbies: Writing/Crafting

I started a screenplay a while ago and took up knitting again. I go to a regular weekly knit night every Thursday and I really enjoy it. I find that crafting is something I miss and want to incorporate more in to my daily life.

  • Finish/sell screen play.
  • Start novel.
  • Continue knitting with projects that contain new stitches.
  • Knit a sweater.
  • Make a quilt.
  • Increase hexipuffs for Bee Keepers quilt to at least 75.
  • Hand make some Christmas gifts.
  • Create two Geocaches.
  • Get the gold coin for the Washington state park Geocaching challenge [as of today we have 34 left].

Environment: House/Yard/Non Tangibles

My home environment is important to me and I like it to be cozy. I would like to spend some time focusing on some home projects.

  • Mudroom update: fresh paint, declutter, corral small items & new carpet.
  • Replace fencing: blew down in windstorm – home owners insurance paying for this.
  • Landscape shade garden area.
  • Build my studio.
  • Master Bedroom: remove wallpaper border, paint, carpet, finish closet & create a headboard.
  • Flooring: install hardwoods in living and hallway and carpet spare room.
  • Hot tub: rip out and prep area for new one and patio.
  • P333 [post coming soon].
  • Decluttering non-physical space: current computer, email, Pinterest boards, etc.

There is A LOT here and likely I have been very aggressive with my plans. Hoping to get a lot of this done this year.

Opt Outside

 

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Goals

  1. Excellent plans my lovely. I wish you every success with them. 🙂
    I was fired up to start my healthy eating drive today, sat here blog reading with a biscuit or three!) and a coffee. There’s always tomorrow right?

Leave a Reply

