On the Needles: Cloche Hat

I have been knitting for a lot of years now but I have stuck to pretty easy patterns and small items. One of my current goals is to become a better knitter by learning harder stitches and patterns.

A few months ago I purchased the pattern book Botanical Knits {I am obsessed with most of the patterns in her books] and started Oak Trail Cloche hat by Alana Dakos and started it over a windy August camping weekend.

Cloche

You start of the hat with the band that goes around the head.

Cloche Hat Start

Then you cast on stitches along the band and knit up to form the hat. This is a progress shot where I have almost completed the oak leaf design. I am a few rows away from closing it up.

Home Stretch

Here is a photo of what it looks like completed. I finished it in September [yes I know I am just now getting around to posting about it]. I think the hat “might” be a little short for me and even at the time I was knitting it thought about adding a few rows.

Finished Cloche

I liked this hat so much that I have another on the needles in a moody purple blue color. This green one is a gift for a friend.

2 thoughts on “On the Needles: Cloche Hat

Leave a Reply

