Recipe: Roasted Beet, Goat Cheese & Spinach Sammy

I am not a vegetarian but I do love vegetables and there are many vegetarian options I choose for lunches. I started following the blog Scaling Back a few months ago and she posted a recipe for a roasted beet, goat cheese & avocado sammy. I’m a fan of beets and all the other ingredients I like so I tried it.

Sammy

My sammich was not as pretty so photo courtesy of her blog.

In one word -YUM!

I could not find arugula at the store so substituted spinach. The marinade for the beets is a little spicy but sooo good! I used sourdough bread. I cut my beets in to chunks and they probably would have worked better as slices but all in all a good sandwich!

The recipe calls for two beets but I figured if I was going to run the oven for almost and hour I would get my monies worth. I roasted 9 beets. I plan to have this sandwich all week and if I get bored with it I can always add the beets to a salad.

Leave a Reply

