Girls Winery Weekend

Wine Grapes

Last Saturday was my mothers 71st birthday. She fancied a trek out of town for a girls winery weekend. After a half day of work Friday morning I picked up my friend Jane and we headed down to Wilsonville, OR to meet up with my mom, her friend and my sister.

After stopping in Portland for some much needed dinner [and trying to avoid the airport] Jane and I continued on our way to our final destination.

We started our day Saturday morning getting a little lost looking for an information center so we could get a better idea of what wineries to hit in the area as the information at our hotel was not really local. My mom wanted to see historic downtown which turned out to be blocks from our hotel. An old church building caught our eye and turned out to be connected with the local McMenamins restaurant in town.

Much of the original historic sites in Wilsonville along Boones Ferry road are no longer but have been preserved by plaques. The road follows an Indian trail from the Willamette river up to the church. The ferry was operated by from 1847 to 1954 and founded by Alphonso Boone, the grandson of Daniel Boone.

Church Windows

The church has been included in the McMenamis family and shares it grounds with a restaurant. There is a brewery in the basement. All of the windows in the church have been redone stained glass. I really enjoyed the asymmetrical design.

While in the area I thought I would get a Geocache done. I wanted to get one in Oregon so I could get my state souvenir as well as I had a trackable to drop off which is on its way to California.

Oregon Souvenir

My mom, her friend and my sister helped search and and I found it pretty quickly. After fueling up on Starbucks we headed out to the first winery on our list, Red Ridge Farms. This farm, olive grove. lavender fields and winery is set near the town of Dayton. There are beautiful vistas from the tasting room and you can enjoy a glass of wine along with a picnic lunch as we did. You can read more in the article from Victoria magazine.

Below, my sister and mom sitting under an arbor where we sat to each our lunch. All of us brought something to share.

Sis and Mom

On our way back to town we stopped at Briar Rose Creamery near Dundee for a tasting of goat cheeses. Here is an article about their chocolate truffles.

A stop at Dobbes Family winery for another tasting and then on to Four Graces was our last winery stop of the day. Four Graces, named after the four daughters of the owners was by far my favorite stop and I highly recommend. We settled in to a table outside and tasted several wines. My friend Jane only wanted to taste whites so they poured her a few extra whites since she was not having reds. We sat and chatted in the balmy afternoon weather.

On our way back to our hotel we stopped at the historic Butteville store in Champoeg State Park. We learned there used to be a paddle wheel ferry here. A glimpse below of some of the signs from boats past.

Paddle Wheel Boat Names

A quilt made from cigar wrappers.

Cigar Quilt

Jane found a book called What Can A Woman Do? written in 1887 by M.L. Rayne [a woman]. We glanced through the book which was very old fashioned indeed. One of the chapters said that dressmakers were clearly uneducated woman. It was hilarious!

Dinner at McMenamans that evening and playing cards that night at the hotel rounded up our day.

The next morning after breakfast Jane and I headed to Portland. We were hoping to hit a fabric store and thought it was open at 11. We got there around 10:30 so looked for a Geocache while we waited. Alas the gates were opened and we discovered it opened at noon. So, we hit the road. After arriving home I watched a great documentary called Somm about four guys studying for their Masters as a Sommilier.

Looking forward to the Geoaching Block party this weekend!

One thought on “Girls Winery Weekend

Leave a Reply

