Recipe: Broccoli Salad

For the entire month of January I went sugar free and clean as possible. Fast forward two months after being sick and I am ready to jump back on that bandwagon – slowly. There are certain things I want to have even if there is a little sugar in it. Every once in a while you come across a recipe that you just have to have.

About a year ago B and I went to dinner at a friends house and she served a broccoli salad. I like broccoli but generally I like it steamed, not raw. I didn’t want to be rude so I took a small amount. I’m so glad I did. It was glorious! I have made this salad a few times since then, once for a camping trip potluck and just last Sunday for a get together with my family. It was well received both times. The recipe is super simple.

  • Broccoli: Enough for each person + left overs [it gets better after a day]
  • Raisins: The amount you think it needs
  • Sunflower seeds: The amount you think it needs

Dressing: Mix together the following [amounts are “to taste”]

  • Mayo [I use Best Foods]
  • Apple Cider Vinegar [for tang and to thin out the mayo]
  • Sugar [not a lot but “to taste”]
  • Poppy seeds

Basically you mix all the ingredients together and serve. I do like my broccoli a little soft so I put this together ahead of time and leave it in the fridge. As mentioned above it tastes better the next day.

Let me know if you tried this recipe and how you liked it as well as any tweaks you made to it. I’m sure the tweaks are limitless!

Leave a Reply

